Promoted, hired, recognized

Ann Bax, president of the United Way of Central Missouri, is proud to offer 16 Community Support Grants, seven to United Way partner agencies and nine to other health and human services agencies, to play a role in the good work they are doing in our community. The recipients include: ABLE Learning Center, Boys & Girls Club, Capital City CASA, El Puente Hispanic Ministry, HALO Foundation, Jefferson City Day Care, Jefferson City RACS, Moniteau Christian Ministries Center, OC-ADCAT, River City Habitat for Humanity, Senior Nutrition Council, Southwest Early Childhood Center, The Healing House and New Beginnings, the Salvation Army, UCP Heartland-Gibbs Center for Independence, and Working Wheels for Working Families.

Mindy Hovis joined the Alzheimer’s Association as a walk manager for the Jefferson City Walk to End Alzheimer’s. Before joining the association, she worked in economic development for six years and spent seven years working in politics and state government. She earned a bachelor’s degree in recreation and tourism and a Master of Arts degree with an emphasis in public relations, both from the University of Central Missouri. For information about the Walk, scheduled for Sept. 17, visit

William “Andy” Parker, DO, has joined Capital Region Physicians internal medicine team. Dr. Parker practices internal medicine, pulmonology, and critical care medicine. Parker received his medical degree from Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine. He completed his internal medicine residency and pulmonary, critical care, and environmental medicine fellowship at MU. He is board certified in internal medicine, pulmonary medicine, and critical care medicine, and he is a member of the American College of Physicians and American College of Chest Physicians.

Capital Region Medical Center presented the 2017 Excellence in Nursing Awards to six nurses at a reception on May 9. Recipients of this award were nominated by their nursing peers as well as administrative staff and physicians. These nurses reflect attributes that are necessary to be great in nursing: teamwork, compassion, respect, integrity, and a strong desire to heal, just to name a few. The recipients included: Robin Barger, LPN, Capital Region Physicians obstetrics and gynecology; Jackie Barron, RN, Capital Region Joint Replacement Center; Vicki Hagenhoff, LPN, patient financial services; Tonya Randazzo, RN, intensive care unit; Sheila Spencer, RN, recovery room and emergency department; and Kristen Warnol, RN, home health.

Capital Region Medical Center hosted over 300 employees on April 20 during the annual Employee Recognition Banquet. Acknowledged at the event were the 2016 Super Star of the Year and the Employees’ Choice Physician of the Year. Jennifer Maurer, athletic trainer and physical therapist assistant at Healthplex West, was honored as the Super Star of the Year, and Dr. Deborah Krause, of Capital Region Physicians Center for Mental Wellness, earned the Physician of the Year award, which was based on nominations from CRMC employees.

Mary Lea Reinkemeyer of Jefferson City pledged to focus on the road and not drive distracted. On May 5, as a result of that pledge, she won a new car. Joe Machens Ford in Jefferson City awarded Reinkemeyer a 2017 Ford Focus as part of an awareness campaign to keep drivers attentive behind the wheel. The Missouri Coalition for Roadway Safety teamed up with Machens Ford and KRCG-TV to sponsor the “Focus on the Road” campaign.

Kathleen Bruegenhemke has been elected to serve on the Hawthorn Bancshares Board of Directors. Bruegenhemke currently serves as Hawthorn Bancshares’ senior vice president and corporate secretary and is Hawthorn Bank’s chief operating and risk officer. Ms. Bruegenhemke’s career with the company’s subsidiary, Hawthorn Bank, began in 1992 as internal auditor. After serving in that capacity for five years, duties shifted to various senior management roles, including merger and acquisition management, serving on loan and interest rate committees, and as president of Hawthorn Bank’s Columbia market.

Jefferson City Medical Group is pleased to announce that four area students pursuing nursing or pre-medicine degrees were recently awarded scholarships by the group. This year’s winners include Justin Weislocher, of Jefferson City, who is currently working towards his Bachelor of Science degree in nursing at Lincoln University; Brittany Patrick, of Jefferson City, who will major in biomedical engineering and neuroscience at Washington University in St. Louis; Madelyn Neuner, of Jefferson City, who will begin her college career in pre-medicine at the University of Mississippi; and Trevor Hall, of Centertown, who will major in chemistry at MU. 

Dr. Mohammad Jarbou and Dr. Humayun Lodhi have joined the staff at SSM Health St. Mary’s Hospital. They will practice at SSM Health Medical Group Pulmonology, located in the Health Plaza at the hospital. Jarbou earned his medical degree from Damascus University Medical School in Syria, completed his residency in internal medicine at MU, and completed his fellowship in pulmonary-critical care at Washington University in St. Louis. Dr. Lodhi earned his medical degree from Osmania Medical College in Hyderabad, India, completed his residency in internal medicine as well as his fellowship in pulmonary medicine at Interfaith Medical Center in Brooklyn, New York, and finished his fellowship in critical care medicine at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston.

SSM Health St. Mary’s Hospital was selected as a recipient of the 2017 I See You Care Award presented by Advanced ICU Care, the nation’s leading provider of high-acuity telemedicine services. The award recognizes outstanding collaboration between in-hospital care staff and Advanced ICU Care’s remote critical care team — a partnership that is vital to improving patient care and outcomes in the demanding intensive care unit environment. SSM Health St. Mary’s Hospital was one of only three hospital recipients across more than 65 hospitals in the United States considered for the award.

Christopher Paynter, DO, an SSM Health Medical Group physician, recently received the 2017 Missouri Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons President’s Award during the Missouri Osteopathic Annual Convention in St. Charles. The award is given to a young physician in practice 10 years or fewer who has exhibited outstanding leadership potential and service to the profession. Each year, the MAOPS president personally chooses the recipient.